#fbf- Who am I?

Who am I? That is a question that up until recently I had trouble answering. To understand why I had such a hard time finding myself I have to take you back to the beginning. And don’t think this is a short story. To REALLY understand why I struggled internally you will need to follow here as my family and I share our past, present, and most importantly our future.

When I share stories of my past with people, I get an interesting response. They see me, a confident 28-year-old kick ass sales professional, but hear a story of a helpless and hopeless girl who somehow managed to survive her reckless behavior. I always tell people after a story or two that I wish I had the patience to write a book. And it would be an a rollercoaster of a book.

But before we get into the drama, the good, the bad, and the ugly. Lets just check out the basic facts and more importantly….

181981_10150139471253223_1918407_n

……. Wasn’t I just the cutest baby ever! I was born on the Ides of March. At a hospital in Illinois. From what I was told, I was a very good and quiet baby. HA, I wonder what happened?

Image (33).jpg

At the time of my birth my parents, Peggy  and Beaumont,  were married.

169030_10150139471368223_4463789_n

And 3 years later my toothless little brother, Andrew, was born. I say toothless because as a baby he had his front teeth removed. I guess apple juice in a baby’s bottle at night rots baby teeth. While he had a set of fake teeth at one point they broke when our mother sat on them. So he had to wait till his adult teeth grew in.

Image (32).jpg

My mom had 2 kids from here previous marriage. My older half-brother, JB, and half-sister, Rae Lynn. They lived in Arkansas but I always remember them coming out during the summer to visit. Even though I was little, I remember how much I looked up to my older brother. I loved them both but I remember thinking he was the coolest person ever. I’m not certain but I believe it was JB and one of his friends who taught me how to swim one of those summers. We had one of those above ground pools in our backyard and a deck (that I vaguely remember being built). Well I had my floaties on my arms and JB and his friend took me by my arms and feet and swung me into the pool. My floaties came off and it was the first time I realized I could swim.

180396_10150139471883223_6409878_n

While it wasn’t  perfect, my childhood was fairly normal until I entered elementary school. And I can’t say that with a lot of confidence, as I only have a handful of memories from before my parents separated and divorced.

12046761_10153757526888223_9153128650985274701_n

But your probably thinking, “Ashley, you still haven’t told us who you are!!”  Today  I am a very successful young women, a loving mother and wife. Today I strive to be the best me. Not only do I want to be my best, I want to help others be their best. We all go through so much and sometimes it feels like we just can’t take anymore. I want to help inspire others to fight for themselves, like I have done and continue to do!

I am excited and nervous to open up and show the world who I am and what I strive to be. Thank you for joining me on my journey.

xoxo,

Ashley

 

 

Leave a Reply

